PGA Betting

Home » Online Betting » PGA Betting

The PGA Championship is a golf tournament that is held each year. The tournament is part of the PGA Tour, which is professional golf association. There are four major tournaments per year, with the PGA Championship coming as the final one. In 2008, the money awarded during the PGA Championship amassed $7.5 million. The tournament started as a match play, but in 1958 it moved to stroke play, and has continued to be since that time. In 2010, the PGA Championship will be played August 12th – 15th at Whistling Straits golf course in Kohler, Wisconsin. In 2004, the event was held at Whistling Straits, where Vijay Singh won the event. In 2011, Atlanta Athletic Club outside of Atlanta, Georgia will be the host. 2012 the event will move to South Carolina, where Kiahaw Golf Resort will host the event. The hosts of the PGA Championship have been announced all the way to 2016.

History of PGA Championship Golf

The PGA Championship started in 1916 in New York City. The event was held at the Siwanoy Country Club in Eastchester, New York. The first winner of the tournament was Jim Barnes, who received $500 and a gold medal. Most recently, in 2009, Yang Yong-eun won the tournament, and his winnings were $1.35 million. The total field for the PGA Championship is 156, and all former PGA Championships are automatically qualified for the tournament. Other players that are invited: last give US Open winners, last five Masters winners, previous Senior PGA Champion, members of the United States Ryder Cup, top 70 leaders on the money standings of the PGA. Since 2000, seven of the ten winners of the PGA Championship were from the United States.

The oldest winner of the PGA Championship is Julius Boros in 1968. Boros was 48 years old when he took the title. The youngest winner is Gene Sarazen, who in 1922 was 20 years old. Walter Hagen and Jack Nicklaus hold the record for most PGA Championship titles; with five. Tiger Woods, who last won the event in 2007, has four PGA Championship titles.

How To Bet On PGA Championship

Odds for winning the PGA Championship are released after the previous event has concluded. A lot of odds are based on previous major tournaments and how well each player has fared. Often time’s injuries are taken into account when odds are released. Betting on the PGA Championship is fairly challenging as a lot of factors come into play. The course in which the event is being played at is often a major factor. Some courses are better fit for players that can drive the ball further, while others are meant for the players who can putt more accurately. Future bets can be made in advance of the event, in which bettors can select that they feel will win the event. Also, future bets on placement within the Top Ten can be made. At certain sports books, bets can be made on actual strokes in which a particular player will shoot. The day of the event, many times prop bets can be made; most of the prop bets match two or more players up and ask specific questions regarding their performance on the day. Live action betting is also allowed at some sports books, where users can bet on the action, as it happens.

NHL Sports Betting
Sports Bets - Sports Betting Online
Copyright 1998-2021